Building a collaborative CMap

Having problems with IHMC CmapTools? Think you have found a bug? Let us know!
Forum rules
Before you post a problem or bug, please be sure you have included the version number of IHMC CmapTools, the operating system and version, the amount of RAM, and any other information that allows us to be able to replicate the problem you are having. (i.e. what were you doing when the problem occur? were you running another program (application) by the time you have the problem?)
wags

Building a collaborative CMap

Post by wags »

Hi All,

I understand that CMap tools allows one to collaboratively build a concept map. Before I undertake this process (I'm going to use the on-line help and cross my fingers) does anyone have experiences with this area that might share their wisdom on 1) How well did it work? 2) was it easy to do? 3) Any pitfalls that I need to be aware of? I am a relative newbie but I know enough to be dangerous!

Thanks!!!
acanas

Re: Building a collaborative CMap

Post by acanas »

Hi,

When building a concept map collaboratively, be aware that it implies that all modifications any of the participants make have to be sent to all other participants, and all these go through the CmapServer where the Cmap is stored. How well will it work? Depends on (a) your bandwidth, how good each of the participant's connection is to the CmapServer, (b) how many people are involved, and (c) how much concurrent editing takes place. When first introduced to synchronous collaboration, students tend to move concepts back and forth to see if it updates in the other (collaborating) screens. If you have many students doing this, it will fail. If on the other hand, the time is spend discussing (through the chat) and building a Cmap as a team, it should work fine.

Regards,

Alberto
Igor_perevoznyk

I CAN NOT START ANY DISCUSSION THREAD

Post by Igor_perevoznyk »

Dear friends,